Dinosaur-themed birthday cake

Pic1

I had so much fun making a dinosaur-themed cake for a colleague’s 4-year-old boy. I first made him the train cake about a year ago. He still likes dinosaurs and trains 🙂 This time, it’s a less complicated round vanilla sponge cake with chocolate ganache covered in fondant, along with his favourite choc-mint green macarons, which I didn’t end up taking a photo 😦

Picture1

I made the cake like a small island surrounded by the “blue sea” as suggested by his mom. There are 4 dinosaurs toppers, hopefully they are recognisable as different types of dinosaurs 😉

I attempted to make a water fall by incorporating some white fondant in the blue fondant and roll them out to create little strips of “water” against the blue background. While I baked the macarons, I made some really tiny drops of macarons and used them as “stones” along the water fall. Then I piped on individual drops of royal icing to imitate water droplets, in large number at the base of the water fall. I thought it turned out quite alright 🙂 Other toppers include some edible coconut trees, basket of dinosaur eggs and a volcano filled with jelly gummy bears, all are edible.

Picture2

 

Picture3

 

Picture4

Picture5

 

Picture6

Leave a Reply

