Green tea & black sesame noodle bowl cake

_DSC1293

Where is the green tea and black sesame? – you might ask! Trust me, it is hidden under this noodle bowl cake 🙂

Another fun weekend with baking a noodle bowl cake. As I am baking for my sister’s birthday, and she is obsessed with anything fermented fish soup,why not make her a fermented fish noodle bowl? 🙂 I gave good thinking about what materials I should use to make the bowl. Fondant was a good choice as it firms up nicely. However, I wanted to make green tea and black sesame mousse cake with green tea sponge, therefore the cake needs to be refrigerated. I heard fondant and the fridge don’t really get along, so I tried to make a bowl with buttercream instead. The idea was great as I managed to make perfect looking buttercream bowl. Then disaster struck – at 11 pm – my bowl shattered sending fragments to the floor after I pour the green tea mousse in. Noooo…… That was what was all in my mind at the time. Think fast. My plan failed. I needed plan B…. on the spot. I had to assemble the cake into another container, then worry about the bowl later as the mousse will set pretty soon.

Well, after I had my cake done (green tea sponge, green tea mousse, black sesame mousse, green tea sponge, green tea mousse), then I gave it a new bowl  – made of fondant – back to square one. Once the drama passed, the fun began: decorating the cake top with noodles, prawns, squid, fish, trying-to-be-crackle pork, chilli, mint leaves, lemon wedge, bean sprout, chives and “soup”. Oh, of course you can’t eat noodle soup without chopsticks and spoon 🙂

_DSC1304

Here is the 2 pieces of fondant squids.

_DSC1298

Made some green chives of fondant.

_DSC1291

My bean sprout with the bean still attached on top 🙂 This came out surprisingly realistic.

_DSC1292

Mint leaves that I made by pressing fondant on real mint leaves to create all the veins then painted them green.

_DSC1287

My lemon/lime wedge, chilli, spoon and chopsticks are drying.

_DSC1299

The mint leaves really sooth the overall dark colours of the whole “noodle bowl”.

 

_DSC1303

The buttercream noodle strands are partially covered by the “soup”. It’s all too familiar 🙂

_DSC1297

_DSC1302

Top view of the bowl.

_DSC1301

_DSC1295

Managed to did a little decoration to my fondant bowl, prettying it up with some colour.

 

_DSC1293

Happy birthday sister 🙂

One thought on “Green tea & black sesame noodle bowl cake

  1. Pingback: Bộ sưu tập bánh của bạn Memory Lane

Leave a Reply

