Citrus Entremet

_DSC9525

Another weekend spent in my kitchen making these little entremets. I was planning to make a cake for a colleague’s birthday. I know she does like my mango cake but mango was not in season, but orange seem to be in season all year around (you know I’m talking about you right, K? ^.^) . I made orange sponge topped by orange mousse with mandarin jelly embedded in the centre. As I only needed 1/3 of the sponge cake made, I used the remaining to try to make an entremet.

_DSC9523

With the birthday cake, I had the layers as I did for the entremets (orange sponge, orange mousse, mandarin jelly, orange mousse, covered in orange glaze). In addition, I made a chocolate ring with printed pattern using a transfer sheet to go around the cake giving it a finished and polished look. I also cut some triangles with the same chocolate for simple decorations. I didn’t handle my chocolate ring gentle enough  – broke a corner when I tried to join the edges up. Not sure if anyone noticed but thankfully, the cake was tasty 🙂

_DSC9518

I didn’t get a chance to take a photo of the inside of the cake, but managed to do that with the entremet, although it was the least nice-looking one, and also from my mobile hence the blurriness. Need to steady those fingers next time!

11193296_10152985116593757_1008531959928627319_n

 

11201885_10152985116418757_1214412036822157556_n

Leave a Reply

